You don’t know what you don’t know.

It never ceases to amaze me how contrary my spiritual walk is compared to a life lived by wordly standards. Everything around me tells me, to try and understand as much of the who, what, when, where, and how as possible and then adjust my life as best I can to come out on top. But, my faith says what I see is only a veil to what lies beneath and because I can’t see everything behind the scenes I need to trust in the One that can.
This is so ridiculously hard for me at times. I struggle with understanding when God is speaking to me and when I’m simply seeing things the way I want to because of how I feel.
God loves me, so I know my answer lies in reading His word…outside of once a week in church.
Honestly, it’s like any other relationship. When you want to get to know someone you spend time with them and get to know what their likes and dislikes are. You care about what matters to them and you make it a priority. You begin to include them in your plans and as your love grows deeper they soon become your whole world.
However, so many people have some type of relationship with God or some idea of a higher power that it can be easy to forego the actual effort involved with developing your own relationship with Him and just accept what others tell you as your own personal beliefs.
It’s common to hear that we should not question God’s sovereignty, but when we’re honest about our struggles we will inevitably be lead to ask questions and like a loving parent, God will provide us answers, maybe not the ones we want, but answers, all the same.

Leave a Reply

